Ahhh lovely. It’s Lorelei Mathias

“I write novels about people falling in love,” says Lorelei Mathias on her website. Well, she’s managed to squeeze a lot of love into this little Q&A. It oozes the stuff. And can you spot the four words that moistened the squinting eyes of your hard-hearted editor? Read on and see…

What object are you writing about and what were your first thoughts when we told you?

A Sylvanian Families Caravan and contents. Genuinely, this was my favourite toy as a child. I had LOADS, and I still think they’re amazing even today. Not only that, a large proportion of my childhood was spent in a VW motor caravan. So my first thoughts on hearing my object were – ‘is this a joke?’ followed closely by, ‘Yay, awesome’.

This is their Death Star

What lost object from your own childhood would you like to own again, and why?

When I was two, we all went in the caravan to the Lorelei Rock on the Rheine. My dad bought me a souvenir t-shirt. It came down to my ankles. I lost it for years, but actually I found it recently in his attic. If I’m honest though, the most precious thing about my childhood was my dad. I’d like him back.

Hop into my time machine and it will take you back to one specific hour of your childhood – where and when do you want to go, and why?

Again in the caravan, but this time I’m ten and our dad has driven all the way to his homeland, Romania. I’d like to go back there then, and really soak it all up. I’m half Romanian but I don’t know nearly enough about my roots. I was always nagging my dad to take us back there, but it never quite happened.

Can you surprise me with one unusual fact about your childhood?

For seven years I was lucky enough to live two minutes walk from my high school, yet somehow I was always late. (Those who know me well now will say this actually isn’t very surprising.)

What’s the earliest thing you can remember writing?

Pop songs with my brother and sister, in the caravan on holiday. I was five. We were in a band called ‘The Bamboulas’, named after our favourite French biscuits, found in the hypermarches. We composed the tracks together. My sister was lead, I was backing vocals, and my brother was in charge of making noises exactly like lead guitar and drums.

[Ed: Lorelei sent all these lovely photos…]

Brother Emil, sister Camilla, Lorelei, her dad, and the 6th member of their family: the VW caravan where she lived every summer until aged 12.

Lorelei, her dad, great aunt and uncle Anutsa and Siegfried, against a backdrop of (Tran)sylvania (no pun intended)

With brother Emil on a woodland camping adventure

Lorelei, her brother’s wife and son, Leon, with her old Sylvanians

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Ahhh lovely. It’s Lorelei Mathias

  1. Issy noho

    very sweet memories you have there Lorelei. Lovely pictures too!

  2. Sweetpea & Jumbo

    Thank you Issy. I hope your singing career is going really well down under! xx

Leave a Reply

